Iguazu Falls, straddling the borders of three countries

Meaning ‘big water’ in the local Guarani language, Iguassu Falls is a sequence of 272 waterfalls spanning three kilometres of the Iguazu River, immersed in dense jungle. Straddling the borders of three countries – Argentina, Brazil and Paraguay – the falls are said to be best seen from the Argentinian side, where the main attraction is the Devil’s Throat, a one kilometre walkway that leads you out over the water. Here you can stand immersed in the spray, listening to the mighty roar of the thundering waterfall. Away from the cascades, the setting in a vast national park includes a large expanse of rainforest, teeming with flora and fauna.